Dan Harmon, Community, Life, and everything in between

Yesterday (or was it the day before?), I heard the best news of my life. Dan Harmon, the creator of universe’s biggest gift to humankind, aka Community, was re-hired for the show. Now, I do not feel like going into the whole NBC-FIRED-HIM-AND-BRITTA’D-IT debate, but I do have to say that knowing that the man who I diligently follow, love and admire, is going to share his wonderfully weird, yet extremely intelligent viewpoints, with me again. I mean, I have said this a million times, but I will say it again, Community (till Season 3, of course) is the biggest piece of revelatory-philosophical-literary work that I have ever encountered. To me, it is not just the best TV show that was ever made, but the best work of art ever thought of.  ianalyzed and mulled over each line spoken by the characters on that show – and they all revealed to me things about life that I always had troubles understanding. Community means grey. Not life in black-and-white, but life in ambiguity and grey. Furthermore, it reveals to me the importance of acceptance, and celebration of grey. It is about imagination, empathy, and all of what comes in between

 

Seriously. Just this one simple line spoken by Evil Abed in Season 3 finale shows the genius that is Dan Harmon –

 

“When the world gets bad enough, Abed, the good go crazy, but the smart…they go bad.”

 

BAM! There it is. Put in the simplest way possible. The wisdom of life is one sentence.

About kikiyo2011

Yes. I am a ragabash. I love eating, singing (though I am no good at it), and writing random things. I like to consider myself as a hilarious person, but those people who are unfortunate enough to read my blog should know that my comedy is slapstick, so you wont find it in my writing. Still...please read my blog. Otherwise I might dance on the streets of my city naked (cant take rejection).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Dan Harmon, Community, Life, and everything in between

Leave a comment