What Fanfiction Means to Me.

I had a debate about the nature of fanfiction writing today. Many people fail to understand the obsession with it. We were discussing it in my Popular Culture class, and the whole thing just made me uncomfortable. My discomfort led to the reveal that I write fanfiction. Most people were amused. Others confused. One girl looked back at me and said, “And you said I was a nerd?”

Shortly after my very able, though a little misguided, teacher left the classroom, a friend of mine – well, more of an acquaintance I care about, approached me and spoke to me about it. She sprung question after question, and I tried to answer them effectively. But I couldn’t. she was theorizing fanfiction. Looking at it from an academic – well, more psychological than anything else, point of view. I tried to make her get it, but the conversation ended with me saying things incomprehensible to her, like “Sherlolly” and “I am a fan of being a fan”.

Right then, someone asked me if I am ashamed of being ‘found’ as a fanfiction writer. And someone else asked me if fanfiction means fantasy fiction. The word ‘commodity fetishism’ and ‘regressing back to play’ was thrown around. And I looked around my classmates, my teacher (who was still standing outside), and thought to myself, “They just don’t get it.”

Not sure what this post was about. But I just had to write it down.

About kikiyo2011

Yes. I am a ragabash. I love eating, singing (though I am no good at it), and writing random things. I like to consider myself as a hilarious person, but those people who are unfortunate enough to read my blog should know that my comedy is slapstick, so you wont find it in my writing. Still...please read my blog. Otherwise I might dance on the streets of my city naked (cant take rejection).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

