In a space

This piece that I wrote is incomplete. I did not know how to end it on paper, because the feeling of lost nostalgia has not gone away for me even now. I have not figured out how to deal with the change yet. the piece will be complete when I find closure. here is for my readers (possibly non-existent ones):

It was all unfamiliar. Well, not entirely. She knew the town like the back of her hand. Yet, it was all different, somehow. Even though she knew the town like the back of her hand, it felt like somebody had distorted her hand deliberately to confuse her. Thus, there was no way for her to not claim the hand as hers, but she could no longer recognize it.

She looked around her; the pesky little shopkeepers with the barely noticeable shops had been replaced by posh, suave boutiques, high-end departmental stores, and, to her utter horror, malls. She couldn’t even come up with an adjective for that blasphemy. Maybe she was overreacting. She had seen malls and high-end stores on a regular basis for six years in the cosmopolitan city she now lived in. Truth be told, she didn’t want to do away with those. She went to malls during weekend, window-shopping and eating at McD. However, somewhere in the back of her mind, she had always thought that her home would always be the this side of developed, whiney little town that always complained about its slow progress but did nothing to change its state. Now, change had come, and how. She could only find bare traces of her old town. The only thing that gave away the smallness of her small town was the heat. After six continuous years in a cool, centrally air-conditioned city, heat in her town seemed especially vengeful to her, like it was pissed off that she had lived in a centrally air-conditioned place for so long.

She didn’t mind the heat, though. It was a tad too much of sweating, agreed, but at least that hadn’t changed. She suddenly realized how much change bothered her. Not in herself, that change she hardly noticed. Of course, she isn’t the kid she was when she had left the town anymore. She was an adult now. No, the change that bothered her was the change she wasn’t a part of. Her home was supposed to be a reprieve, where she could tell stories of the big ol’ city, while healing herself in the comfort of her small town familiarity. However, her town had thrown her off completely.

About kikiyo2011

Yes. I am a ragabash. I love eating, singing (though I am no good at it), and writing random things. I like to consider myself as a hilarious person, but those people who are unfortunate enough to read my blog should know that my comedy is slapstick, so you wont find it in my writing. Still...please read my blog. Otherwise I might dance on the streets of my city naked (cant take rejection).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

